In the days of film BD (before digital) no self-respecting landscape photographer would leave home without an armoury of filters. Then came digital and Photoshop and it seemed that the days of filters for every occasion were numbered. My expensive collection of Lee filters was consigned to my spare camera bag.

But, keen reader of photography books as I am, I noted that filters were getting mentioned again and again and again. The final straw was when I was browsing through a book by one of my favourite photographers, David Noton, who mentioned time and time again the use of his polariser, neutral density (ND) graduated and neutral density full filters. (David Noton: Full Frame (David and Charles) 978-0-7153-3614-4) If they were good enough for a brilliant photographer like him, who was I to forego them. So a scrabble through my spare bag ensued and I went forth suitably filtered.

Not, I hasten to add, with the full arsenal that I used to carry in film days but with those that are proving useful in digital days to improve the results out of the camera so that less time has to be spent in processing in front of the computer.

This is the introduction to my e-book Introduction to Filters for Digital Photography which then goes on to talk about polarising, neutral density graduated and neutral density full filters.

Figure 1 - Neutral density Graduated filters

As a bonus, I demonstrate how I use combination processing to obtain a good result from contrasty images.

Figure 10

You can find details of these e-books for Kindle readers at Amazon (http://tinyurl.com/pb2aw7y) or for other readers at Smashwords (http://tinyurl.com/ofbqeeg)

