As 2013 drops from sight and 2014 looms large on the horizon my thoughts turn inevitably to the future as no doubt do yours. The major problem I find is separating the well meant from the achievable. Resolutions that are simply nice wishes fade too quickly from my mind. What I need is something that will stretch me for the next twelve months, that will challenge me, that will constantly be in the forefront of my thoughts and not a wish that is less than a memory by the end of January. What I need is something that I will be able to review at this time next year and, hopefully, be able to say, “I did it!”.

What I need is a goal, not just a New Year resolution. And, if you are feeling anything like me and especially if you are in any sort of business, this is a great time of the year to review the goals you have already established (you do have goals, don’t you?) and consider whether they need to be adjusted or even replaced. And when you have done that, write down the new goals together with a target date for achieving them as a starting point. As these goals become fixed in your head you can then begin adding the steps needed to bring them to fruition. Establish review points through the year when you can adjust the goals according to their current situation.

I found an appropriate quote on Pinterest the other day by Harvey Mackay which read, “A dream is just a dream. A goal is a dream with a plan and a deadline.”

That is how it seems to me. What do you think?

May I wish you a happy, healthy and, hopefully, a prosperous New Year.

