A number of years ago I interviewed at long distance David Noton, eminent landscape photographer, when his book Waiting for the Light was published. It has become one of the books that I constantly pick off my shelf when I feel the need for inspiration. Here is the article I wrote and which was adapted for use in Australian Photography magazine when it was combined with another interview which I did, again at long distance, with Tom Mackie, another equally eminent landscape photographer.

 

It was a cold November day in England’s Lake District with regular showers from the jumbled clouds that scudded over a landscape filled with the glowing colours of late autumn. I was on a weekend workshop with Charlie Waite, one of England’s finest landscape photographers and it was then as I stood guard over my tripod mounted camera with a plastic bag hood over it that I learnt that most valuable lesson for the making of landscape photographs — “wait for the light”. When the light did eventually come, it was fleeting but I got the shot. It was worth the wait.

When I heard that David Noton, another of England’s fine landscape photographers, had written a book called Waiting for the Light I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. I had known of David’s work for many years and during the time I spent in England a few years ago, I had read his articles in the photographic press with enthusiasm.

 

 

To read the full article Click here

David Bigwood is a writer and photographer. He is a member of the Australian Society of Authors and has qualified as a Licentiate of the Royal Photographic Society (LRPS).

