As a former keen monochrome worker, I miss my darkroom and the thrill of seeing a print appear in the developer and watching as it builds to its climax. And, I miss the simplicity of a black and white print.

I know that I can shoot digital in black and white but I never seem to. As a freelance I have to capture the images that magazines want and 99 plus% want everything in glorious colour. So, as I no longer have a darkroom, the only way for me to satisfy my craving for black and white is to convert suitable colour images to monochrome using my trusty computer.

As with so many things in Photoshop, there are a number of ways in which this conversion can be done. Grayscale Mode, De-saturate, Channel Mix, LAB Mode etcetera and at some stage I have used all of them. If you want to see what I have settled on, my e-book The Black and White Enthusiast sets it all out including the conversion of colour slides.

Cover BWE 1224 IS bw gl

The Black and White Enthusiast is available in formats for tablet readers at Smashwords Here

Whatever you do, if you like black and white photography then have a go and experiment until you are satisfied

